Skip to content

Second Time Around hosts You’ve been Sentenced! game night

April 19, 2010

Many thanks to Rachael at Second Time Around for the fabulous review — and for hosting a You’ve been Sentenced! party… what a dedicated blogger! To read Rachel’s review, see below. To visit her fabulous blog, click on Second Time Around.

“I grew up playing games with my family (cheap entertainment) and we all still love playing games together. Some of my favorite games are word games where you have to work your mind and you win through skill rather than luck (the dice is not my friend). I recently was introduced to some new fun games from McNeill Designs for Brighter Minds.

One of McNeill’s games is called You’ve Been Sentenced! It’s a great game that helps you to practice your English and vocabulary skills. You’ve Been Sentenced! has won several rewards such as 2006 iParenting Media Award, Dr. Toy “Best Products Winner” 2007, Creative Child Magazine Seal of Excellence Award 2007, and several more!

We received a big game pack from McNeill Designs which included You’ve Been Sentenced! with 5 Add-on Decks, Twisted Fish, and the Wheel of Chore-ture. I couldn’t wait to try these fun games out.

The first game I tried out was You’ve Been Sentenced! which is a sentence building game for ages 8 and up. Here is the object of the game.

This sentence-building game uses unique five-sided cards with multiple conjugations of a base word. With a hand of 10 cards, players try to score the most points per round by constructing the longest, grammatically correct, and sensible sentence. Any player can object to another players sentence, on either grammatical grounds, or the fact that the sentence just doesn’t make sense. The defending player and the objecting player get to argue their points to the rest of the players, who form a jury. Half the fun is trying to defend, explain, and justify a completely ridiculous sentence to the other players. First player to reach 200 points wins.

I loved this game and was cracking up over a lot of the sentences we were creating. I first tried it out with just my Mom even though it says 3 or more players. We had a lot of fun, but I decided that before I wrote my review I wanted to try it with a big group. So last night when all of my family got together, I brought out the games. It was hilarious seeing all the different sentences my family came up with. Some sentences made sense and others we argued about because they made no sense! The rules are simple and easy to follow. It was fun and is a great way to practice your English skills. You’ve Been Sentenced! would be a great game to play in an English class, and several teachers have already been using this game in their classroom. What a great teaching tool! It’s fun with just a few people, but it’s definitely even more fun with more people…the more the merrier.

There is also 5 Add-on Decks that you can use to have even more hours of fun:

  • Reader’s Digest National Word Power Challenge™ Deck
  • Sports Highlights Deck
  • Sci-fi and Fantasy
  • Pop Culture Deck
  • Gourmet Cuisine Deck

Twisted Fish is like Go Fish, but with a twist! There are Zinger Cards that make it so you can look at other people’s hands, stop others from taking cards from your hand, and lots more! The cards are bright and colorful. We were a little bit overwhelmed with all of the rules, but once you start playing it’s easy to understand.

I first played with just my Mom and it was fun. Then I played with my family and there were lots of us! We had a great time and everyone loved the game, but it was definitely harder than when I just played with my Mom. It really makes you think and it really works your memorization skills.

The Wheel of Chore-ture is a very creative way to get your kids to do chores. It has magnets on the back so it’s perfect to hang on your refrigerator. Tobin is too young to understand, but he’s already enjoying spinning the wheel! I know that when he’s older, he will have a great time with it…and so will I!

All of these are great family games that are not only fun, but they also expand your mind! I highly recommend all of these games!”

Want to learn more about McNeill Designs for Brighter Minds’ award-winning games like You’ve been Sentenced!, Twisted Fish and more? Visit McNeill Designs for game rules, printable score sheets, or even order online!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

