Skip to content

“My Kids Are Fun” review of the You’ve been Sentenced! word game

April 19, 2010

Many thanks to “My Kids are Fun!” for the fantastic review of McNeill Designs’ games. An excerpt follows, but you can read the full review at My Kids are Fun:

“As most of you know, I have a (soon to be 11 year old) son with autism.  Many of the children on the autistic spectrum have language and speech problems, and that includes my son. I’m so happy that he really enjoys his English class this year at school. But how do I encourage that development at home?

I was so excited that we got the opportunity to review the game You’ve Been Sentenced! . If you haven’t heard of this game before, I’ll tell you a little about it.  The game comes with 5 decks of cards (that’s 540 cards!) , score sheets, a sand timer, and a pencil. Each person gets 10 cards and tries to make the best grammatically correct sentence. Then you read your sentences out loud and the rest of the players decide whether the sentence and justification stand and the points are scored.

I’ve played with Jake a few times since we got these games, but for now we don’t take score. We didn’t even take turns. He picked 10 cards and together we made sentences. I think this is a great way to start with any child who has language issues or is younger. Plus, there’s so many different ways to play! You can go here and check out all the alternate ways of playing…”

Want to learn more about McNeill Designs for Brighter Minds’ award-winning games like You’ve been Sentenced!, Twisted Fish and more? Visit McNeill Designs for game rules, printable score sheets, or even order online!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

