Skip to content

The pressure! The drama! According to writer Stephanie Dickison, You’ve been Sentenced! has “Got the Knack”

September 20, 2009
Stephanie Dickison thinks You've been Sentenced! has Got the Knack

Stephanie Dickison thinks You've been Sentenced! has Got the Knack

Many thanks to Stephanie Dickison at Got the Knack for the fabulous review! An excerpt from the piece is below, but you can read the full review at Got the Knack

In addition to Got the Knack, Stephanie boasts extensive writing experience including a new book on her career as pop culture, book, music and restaurant critic  — The 30-Second Commute: A Non-Fiction Comedy About Writing & Working From Home.

Change It Up And Do Something Fun This Weekend!

By Stephanie Dickison

“Because I’m a freelance writer, my deadlines can fall on a Saturday or Sunday and often while most people are out shopping and brunching, I am hunched over my little rolltop desk working.

I know the importance of taking time off, but I find it extremely difficult and sometimes even feel guilty for not working (my desk is at the end of our bed, so that doesn’t help matters. I can see my piles of working awaiting me).

So I have come up with some activities that not only take me away from my looming work, but are fun and original and can be done at anytime.

You’ve Been Sentenced!

After a long day of writing to deadline (my television screenwriter fella and me, a magazine writer), you’d think the last thing we’d want to do is craft sentences.

That’s what we thought, until we actually tried You’ve Been Sentenced!, an award-winning board game.

The way it works is you get 10 cards. Each card has a number of words on it. You can choose any word on the card and use between 2 to 10 cards to form a sentence. Then your read out your sentence and your opponents get to choose whether it is passable or not.

The fun begins when you pick out your 10 cards and realize you have no articles. It is extremely difficult to form a sentence without as, a, the, but it’s kind of a fun challenge at the same time!

The ante is upped when the first person who finishes their sentence turns over the timer. This means you’ve only got until the sand runs out to complete your sentence. The pressure! The drama! The crazy sentences!

We played 2 rounds our first time because it was so much fun! And thanks to YBS Add-On Decks, you not only have more cards to choose from, but the categories add a whole new layer of enjoyment. I love the Pop Culture Deck with Ashlee Simpson, Tom Cruise and words like Wii and email. I like the challenge of the Sci-Fi & Fantasy Deck, because other than Battlestar Galactica and Darth Vader, I don’t know what any of it is. I of course can’t get enough of the Gourmet Cuisine Deck.

We had so much fun that we’re having a game night at our place in September with our friends and neighbours, so they can try out You’ve Been Sentenced! too.

It’s such a fun way to spend the night!”

Want to learn more about McNeill Designs for Brighter Minds’ award-winning games like You’ve been Sentenced!Twisted Fish and more? Visit McNeill Designs for game rulesprintable score sheets, or even order online!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

